Discover Wall Yoga

Yoga classes can often incorporate the wall as a prop for certain poses – legs up the wall in a restorative class, for example, or using the wall as support when practicing inversions.

Wall yoga, however, is a whole other story! Inspired by the Iyengar tradition, wall yoga uses the wall as more than a prop- it is one of the most fundamental elements of the practice. Read on to discover the practice and its benefits!

What is wall yoga?

Wall Yoga is a series of Iyengar style postures practiced using a system of straps installed on a wall, an ancient practice originating in India. The idea behind Wall Yoga is to use ropes attached to hooks that work with gravity, allowing practitioners to experience vertical practice and explore asanas in a totally new way. With deeper stretching and more mobility and security in postures, students are able to move beyond their normal practice and receive the benefits of further opening and even poses they have never practiced before!

The rope wall was first developed and refined by B.K.S. Iyengar, who encouraged its use for students whose bodies were tighter and needed assistance coming into certain asanas on their own. The rope wall helps students to feel safer and supported in poses such as inversions, where practitioners might otherwise refrain and, therefore, not experience the benefit of the asana.

The straps help students become conscious of the alignment of their body, just as is fundamental in the principles of the Iyengar style of yoga. The practice emphasizes the correct orientation of the skeletal and muscular systems, allowing the student to experience safer movements while opening, strengthening, and toning their bodies.

Why Wall Yoga?

While the practice of wall yoga is well-known historically, it is still new and exciting for more modern yoga classes. Practicing with the wall system of ropes brings a different perspective on poses and alignment, while also allowing practitioners to reach deeper into their practice with the help of the wall’s resistance. Wall Yoga also allows students to feel supported in more challenging postures and encourages increased mobility of the joints and spine, bringing the body beyond its usual movements. This increased flexibility of the body even reaps benefits in the mind! Limits and restrictions are released as your body is challenged to reach new heights!

Where can you find Wall Yoga?

You can discover the practice of wall yoga all over the world! From New York City to Quebec, to Marrakech and Rishikesh, yoga studios, gyms, and wellness centers are hearing of the benefits of wall yoga poses on flexibility, mobility, and strength. Wall Yoga practices have their roots in ancient systems of India and are still making their way into the western world. The popularity of the practice, however, is spreading quickly, making wall yoga classes a regularly scheduled offering in many centers around the globe!

Book a Wall Yoga Class with Om Yoga Morocco

Découvrez le Wall Yoga

Les yogis peuvent souvent s’aider du mur comme accessoire et support lors des séances à but réparateur et pour certaines postures notamment les inversions. Ainsi, le wall yoga, inspiré de la tradition Iyengar, utilise le mur comme un élément essentiel de la pratique. Plus de détails sur la pratique et ses avantages à découvrir à travers l’article !

Wall Yoga est une série de postures de style Iyengar pratiquées à l’aide d’un système de sangles installées sur un mur. Le wall yoga, une pratique ancienne née en Inde, consiste en l’utilisation de cordes attachées à des crochets, permettant aux pratiquants de faire l’expérience de la pratique verticale et d’explorer les asanas d’une manière totalement nouvelle. Avec des étirements plus profonds et plus de mobilité et de sécurité dans les postures, les étudiants sont capables d’aller au-delà de leur pratique habituelle et de bénéficier des avantages d’une plus grande ouverture et même arriver à effectuer des postures qu’ils n’ont jamais réussies auparavant!

Qu’est ce que le wall yoga?

Le mur à cordes a été développé et amélioré par B.K.S. Iyengar, qui a encouragé son utilisation pour les étudiants dont les corps étaient plus crispés et avaient besoin d’aide pour entrer seuls dans certains asanas. Le mur de corde aide les étudiants à se sentir plus en sécurité et à être soutenus dans des postures telles que les inversions. Car les inversions et à cause de leur niveau de difficulté avancé, pourraient entraîner un désistement de la part des pratiquants et par conséquent ils ne pourront pas bénéficier des avantages que procurent ces asanas.

Les sangles aident les étudiants à prendre conscience de l’alignement de leur corps, ce qui est  fondamental dans les principes du yoga Iyengar. La pratique met l’accent sur l’alignement correct des systèmes squelettique et musculaire et permet au pratiquant de faire l’expérience de mouvements en s’ouvrant au maximum en toute sécurité tout en renforçant et raffermissant son corps.

Les bienfaits du Wall Yoga?

Bien que la pratique du wall yoga soit bien connue historiquement, elle est considérée comme une pratique tendance et s’inscrit dans la vague des cours de yoga plus modernes. Pratiquer le yoga avec le système de cordes mural apporte une perspective différente sur les poses et l’alignement, tout en permettant aux pratiquants d’avancer plus profondément dans leur pratique avec l’aide de la résistance du mur. Le Wall Yoga permet également aux étudiants de se sentir soutenus dans des postures plus difficiles et encourage la mobilité des articulations et de la colonne vertébrale, amenant le corps au-delà de ses mouvements habituels. Cette flexibilité accentuée du corps génère même du bien pour l’esprit! Les limites et restrictions sont libérées et votre corps est mis au défi d’atteindre de nouveaux sommets!

Où trouver le Wall Yoga?

Vous pouvez découvrir et pratiquer le wall yoga un peu partout dans le monde. De New York au Québec, en passant par Marrakech et Rishikesh, les studios de yoga, les gymnases et les centres de bien-être ont compris et adopté le wall yoga et ses avantages: flexibilité, mobilité et force. Les pratiques du wall yoga s’inspirent des ses racines de l’Inde ancienne et continuent de se répandre dans le monde occidental. La popularité de la pratique ne cesse de s’accroître, ainsi le wall yoga s’invite régulièrement dans les  programmes de nombreux centres de bien être du monde entier!